Posted by: Sk | February 22, 2009

1 Who is Sask?

Sask was born in my imagination about 1999/2000. At that time, for different reasons, soldiers were very important for my imagination. It is true that I liked her uniform very much, Myself said, but this was not the only reason. Soldiers represented some kind of order through their very appearance and in the very disordered northern Greece where I was living, the very fact of having , were it just as representation, the image of order in a uniformed someone who may still believe in rules and organization, was of extreme help. (Consider that in the village whereI was living, there was only one of the four cafeterias  having legal authorization to works as such, and the only one who had belonged to a … Bulgarian.) Order was thus  generally represented by my beloved character Sask, a lieutenant general (at that time still a captain, but who ascended through a heroic intervention in 2003 nobody knows about) of the Israeli Army. It was the Israeli Army because Isareli are the only people I know who still mention their army rank in their CV, so that my concept of order was embedded in a somewhat friendly atmosphere: in France my lieutenant general would certainly have died of dispair, and this was certainly to be avoided.

The lieutenant general had studied psychology and had some kind of related job in the army, in this was because I did know very little about armies and was more interested by psychological questions, so that I attached this professional activity to her in order to have something to talk about. In fact, the lieutenant general was a reference pole of disagreement between generally accepted theories and my own points of view, reason why she was always involved in the most absurd stories concerning the extravagancy resulting of the possible realization of modern theory. This gambling with the absurd arrived to its peak with a hilarious story I never wrote, where, times changing, homosexuals were put into some kind of program in order to convert them to the naturally correct. A poor lonesome cowboy, thus, heavily suspected of homosexuality, is put into the program, with the bad luck, that the combination of two opposite currents of methodology does always drive him mad: Natasha’s program, conveying the question of which would be the perfect wife, and Sask’s, conveying the problematic of the male man, fall into a mind that does not differentiate the ‘would’ of the ‘is’, so that he spends his time figuring out a perfect woman and an ideal man, until he is cut into two pieces.

Sask is exactly the type who does drive hypothesis down to its final consequences, at least in thought. She’s further involved in the killing of the dragon (Manual of a soldier), in the independence of Macedonia (Eldorado) and many, many other stories. She became so sympathetic to me, that she finished by populating most of my hypothetical constructions, together with Natasha, the Russian spy.

She finally becomes a referential psychic type (fourth refracted in lines of understanding) and appears even in logical constructions. Hannah did give to this character an environment. She was married, had two children, was about 34 in 2003. Married when she was about 17, she was separated from her husband since. She belonged to an impoverished bankers family of ashkenaze origins. She lived somewhere undetermined, neither in town, neither in a kibbutz, a house with a garden and a dog, a Rothweiler, Hannah decided. Some stories said her older son was adopted, others that he had some problem with drugs or psychic stability. The son was about 17, the daughter 14 in 2003. Other stories make her have a third child about 2002/3, of unknown father, final reason of divorce. In a certain number of hypothesis her husband is a treacher to the nation and is finally shot. All these stories were in fact nothing but the development of the impact of a certain psychic type in a determined environment.

She was quite tall, about 1.70, almost blond, with the hair down to the shoulders, thin. Her movements had something very martial, though not tense or agressive. Just ordered. Very esthetical, Myself used to say.

Sask was everywhere. Whether it was in the hypothesis of Hannah’s murder, in the impact of observation on human behavior, in the transmission of information in Irak war. She became so familiar that I tended to consult my movements with my imaginary character as if I could be sure that they would not be that wrong if responding to her concept of reality.

When I went to Israel in 2003, I met someone who had exactly the same aspect than my imaginary character. I met thousands of strange people in Jerusalem, some of them I saw very often, some, just for seconds or minutes. I remember that I was sitting at my usual place at King David when Sask crossed the hall in her uniform, having another soldier to her right. She was laughing. It was only seconds that she crossed my vision field, enough though to leave a quite burning impression. Was Hannah right when she said that Sask did exist? How thus were all my stories and logical constructions linked to the image of someone who was exactly like my imagined creature? I wouldn’t react anymore. Of course I didn’t imagine myself running after her in order to ask her whether her name was Shoona, the oficial name of Sask, she didn’t like, reason why I had given her another name. Her last name seemed to be something like Gavilan (Spanish name for a bird of the family of eagles), as I wanted to verify whether it was a real Hebrew name, I never attached it in a convincing way to her character. Lately I discovered that there is a similar Hebrew name.

Her character was quite dry, even harsh. She covered an extreme sense of humor behind mostly indifferent expressions. Sometimes she would make very cutting comments, reason why people were mostly afraid of her. To give her an adventurous character, I made her jump of the helicopter on weekends. This gave place to a whole lot of funny hypothesis, when Myself said that to jump of a helicopter meant to get drunk in Hebrew, which made me laugh very much (the possibility of it being so), although I did never give credit to it.

Thus, Sask became a double: someone who seemed to correspond to the outer appearance of my novel character, and my novel character as such. In a funny hypothesis, linked to the fact that our generation would not believe that it was possible to find someone lost among millions, I ‘make up’ Sask for Douna. The question was to meet someone somewhere, quite difficult to find, and manage to find the person back through what we called the Greek ‘yanis’ system.

However this last hypothesis ends up, if I find Sask again or not, I had to admit that the encounter had quite shocked my psychic system. We do never like our fantasy getting in excessive touch with reality, at least in what I’m concerned. I thus let some months pass, and tried to organiz memory through a new principle. Was is possible that Sask was there before? Somehow? I ordered the past in Greece through two criteria: those linked to a disposition that did lead me to have an Amaretto in Alekos cafeteria, and those linked to the one that made me discover a Stolichnaya 10 among the thousands of bottles kept by the same Alekos in his cafeteria. By doing so, I discovered an obvious invasion of my psychic system by two opposite currents: one linked to Israel, one to Russia.

The differentiation of these characters do allow to build up a hypothetical image of both Sask and Natasha (who did also come to Jerusalem, though she stayed at King David two days,one night). The descriptions as appearing in Manual of a soldier, though touched by irony, do correspond to the reconstruction of these two characters based on my personal movements in reality as considered from this angle.

Logically, Sask has thousands of features that may correspond to hundreds of people. The question is not, I said to Shanee, whether the description corresponds exactly to facts and thus to these and those, but whether someone does identify himself with such a description. Of course, if she exists, I hope she doesn’t fall in love with Myself. In our times and her environment it is as difficult to fall in love with a schizoid fantasy than with the non corresponding physical appearance. She certainly wouldn’t, to the greatest disappointment of Myself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

